A final UOSM2008 reflection

As a Web Scientist, I’ve really appreciated the interdisciplinary aspect of UOSM2008, allowing me to engage with peers from a variety of academic backgrounds. I’ve also enjoyed the diversity of topics covered. Prior to the start of the module, I hadn’t come across the concept of digital “visitors” and “residents” but after researching I could immediately identify myself as operating in “resident” mode. In topic 2 I was reminded of the dangers social media can pose with the story of Justine Sacco (Ronson, 2015). It was these fears which led me to think about my own online presence and provide guidance for others in topic 3. Topic 4 proved to be extremely contentious with a diverse range of ethical issues related to social media discussed. Finally, topic 5 proved my favourite topic as I expanded my understanding of Open Access after previously being introduced to the topic exclusively in a scholarly context.

loutcomes.png
Figure 1: Tips from each week, self created with Canva

Whilst the development of knowledge is something experienced with all university modules, UOSM2008 has presented the unique opportunity to develop a wide range of digital skills, unachievable in a traditional classroom environment. For example I soon learned how to blog concisely, making use of self-created infographics. This resulted in my topic 5 post only containing 300 words, proving to be the most engaging post to date! Some of the things I’ve learnt through peer engagement, reflection and comments from staff can be seen in Figure 1.

Online profile development:

In addition to maintaining and improving my blog, this module has enabled me to sharpen up my digital portfolio. Initially I felt my profiles were reasonably strong. However further inspection proved them to be dated and inconsistent and so I’ve made big changes, particularly to my LinkedIn and Twitter profiles:

mgmt.PNG
Figure 2: Changes made to social media profiles, self created with Canva

Some of these changes are evidenced below:

In my first post I self-graded my digital skills. Take a look at the video below to see how they’ve improved:

One of my biggest achievements has seen me brush off my ‘lurker’ tag, where I frequently used platforms such as Twitter but very rarely posted. This has involved me tweeting links to my blog, which to my surprise has been well received not only by peers on the module but by those outside of university. I also regularly shared articles and tips for other students, which was often well received as demonstrated below:

tweet.png

The future:

Whilst I’m happy with the progress made towards developing my online professional profile, there is still more to achieve! I’m particularly interested in enrolling on a Cyber Security MOOC in the hope of gaining a certification (FutureLearn). I’m also hoping to relaunch my own personal website and blog about any new security concepts. Who knows, I could even save the NHS like this guy! https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2017/may/15/accidental-hero-who-halted-cyber-attack-is-22-year-old-english-blogger (Khomami, 2017).

This module has come at the perfect time for me and I’m already seeing the benefits of all the hours of work as I search for a job. If you’re reading this and thinking about module choices, choose UOSM2008/2033!

Word count: 500

References:

FutureLearn. (n.d.). Introduction to Cyber Security. Retrieved from https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/introduction-to-cyber-security

Khomami, N. (2017, May 15). ‘Accidental hero’ who halted cyber-attack is English blogger aged 22. Retrieved from https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2017/may/15/accidental-hero-who-halted-cyber-attack-is-22-year-old-english-blogger

Ronson, J. (2015, February 12). How One Stupid Tweet Blew Up Justine Sacco’s Life. Retrieved from The New York Times Magazine: https://www.nytimes.com/2015/02/15/magazine/how-one-stupid-tweet-ruined-justine-saccos-life.html?_r=0


Leave a comment